Looking for a new shampoo?

Look to www.locdlife.com for your guide to the loc’d lifestyle.

Today I officially begin my personal quest to regularly review as many products that can be used for locs, rant on personal treatises on loc’dom or on whatever items pertaining to locs.

I’ll also review shampoos, conditioners, leave-in conditioners, essential oils and other products that will hopefully make my locs look their best.

Today I tried Suave Professionals Rosemary and Mint Shampoo.

My criteria for testing is simple: I tested for lather, scent and invigorating properties.

Lather: Suave’s Rosemary and Mint Shampoo lathered very well on the first shampoo. It has a clear, light texture, which lets me know immediately that it won’t cause buildup. It easily worked its way through my locs, with each section lathering very quickly. Once I worked it through my hair, it rinsed very easily. I shampooed again for a thorough cleansing. My locs felt clean after two shampoos.

Scent: I love the scent of the shampoo. It has an earthy floral scent that is a nice balance between the two, and thankfully more floral.

Invigorating properties: While this isn’t essential, I wished that it tingled more on my scalp. I’ve tried other rosemary and mint shampoos, and I could feel the tingle immediately. It really does add to the feeling of clean. A tingly scalp feels especially good during the summer. The tingle also stimulates blood circulation to the scalp. That being said, more tingle means more blood flow to the scalp for growth. I didn’t feel much of a tingle.

Overall, I’d use it again for the cleansing properties and the nice scent. For the money, it’s a good buy. But if I wanted more invigoration on the scalp, I’d probably use something else.

Don’t forget, if you haven’t visited our site yet, take a look at Loc’d Life magazine at www.locdlife.com. We’ll be adding more content this summer. There will be more weekly postings.

Leave a Reply

