A New Hue

(Dakore Egbuson)

My loc journey would not be complete without my color quest.

I searched high and low for the perfect color for my locs. When I started, I wanted a subtle color lift. By the time I experienced with colors, brands and all the ins and outs, I lifted my hair about 2-3 color shades.

Here are my tips for coloring your locs—what I’ve found along the way…

  • Read, read, read . Read all the directions for your brand of color. Follow the time recommendations and use caution.
  • Rinse, rinse, rinse. Rinse as if your locs depend on it. They really do. It’s the non-removal of color that causes breakage.
  • Wear clothes you don’t care about. In all the mixing and applying, you will get something on your clothes. Wear an old t-shirt and even cover your bathroom sink with plastic to avoid staining.
  • Condition. The standard conditioner in a lot of the color kits will not be enough for locs. Use a hot-oil treatment to help defend against the drying effects of color. Keep it conditioned between shampoos.
  • Don’t do it often. When it comes to showing roots, relax. If you do your own coloring, you really do not want to color often. Remember, you are using harsh chemicals to lift and deposit color into your hair. Coloring constantly fries out non-loc’d hair. Locs will just snap off, and with retouching, it could snap off at the roots.
  • Added tip: If you swim, color and chlorine don’t mix. A lifeguard I talked with saw his locs just snap off. After a swim, ALWAYS use a chlorine-removing shampoo and condition as soon as possible.

Gail Mitchell
Loc’d Life Magazine

2 thoughts on “A New Hue

  1. I am in the Chicago area and I would love to get referrals for the best loc colorist in town. I have some stubborn grey that needs TLC.

Leave a Reply

