Role Models Part I: Sandria Washington

Photographer: David Jenkins

This is part 1 in an occasional series of interviews with loc’d hair models working in the industry. Today, we talk with Sandria Washington, Chicago’s natural hair model extraordinaire. She was a finalist in this year’s World’s Next Top Natural Hair Model competition. She is the face of Entwine Naturalle Coiffure Collezioni in Chicago. She’s also a writer. Read on for her story and her tips for locs…

How long have you been modeling?
I’ve been modeling since 2008. I started out completely by accident. A friend of mine was having an event and one of their live mannequin models didn’t show up. I happened to be tall and could fit the designer’s clothes. When I saw the pictures afterwards, they didn’t look too bad, so I decided to keep modeling.

Has wearing locs created more jobs for you? If so why?
My hair was already loc’d when I began modeling, so this is all I’ve known. Having locs hasn’t hindered anything for me. I’ve been blessed to model in natural hair product campaigns, on television, various fashion shows and festivals. My locs also helped bring home the 1st Place trophy at the 2010 World Natural Hair, Health and Beauty Show for Amazon Salon (See our print edition for our story on this Chicago salon!).

How long have you worn locs?
I’ve worn locs nearly six years now. I’ve been natural since 2002 and began locing in 2006. I’m at the point now where I’m seriously thinking about cutting them shorter.

What are some of your loc beauty/maintenance secrets?
There are no secrets here! I’m extremely low maintenance when it comes to my hair. My stylist washes my hair with Dr. Bronner’s Peppermint soap. In between stylings I will use a little coconut oil to maintain moisture or spritz my hair with Argan oil (Entwine has a great Argan oil spray). I try to use as little product on my hair as possible.

Tune in for future posts on Role Models! As always, we will share their beauty secrets with you! Here’s to more models going forward to show our true diversity! Go to www.locdlife.com for our gallery on Sandria!

(If you’re a loc’d hair model working in the industry, email us at info@locdlife.com. We’d like to include you, too!)

2 thoughts on “Role Models Part I: Sandria Washington

  1. Pingback: Winter Moisture Fixes for Locs « Loc'd Life Magazine Blog

Leave a Reply

