My loc regimen

My hair has grown since I took this picture two years ago.

 

November has been 5 years since I started the loc’d life!

My loc regimen is simple (and it changes, depending on what new product comes my way!). Since we’re entering some drier months, I’ll want to do things to keep in moisture.

So, here it is…

 

 

Shampoo
Right now, I am using Organic Root Stimulator’s Olive Oil Aloe Shampoo. It gets the job done—easily lathers, rinses easily and I can get it at midnight at my local drugstore if I need to. It cleanses and retains moisture.

 

 

 

Conditioner

I have searched high and low for a rinse-out conditioner that actually does something to my locs for the short time I use it. I use Organic Root Stimulator’s Olive Oil Replenishing Conditioner. It really conditions, so a little time is all you’ll need—like a few minutes.

 

 

Grooming

Yes, after a reader sent in her question, I realized that I, too, have frizzy locs. If I go to the loctician, they’ll last the week, but by week’s end I have the frizzies.

Here’s the Fabulocs review I promised you, and I have been using it ONLY after I shampoo. Fabulocs Loc Binding Butter is a blend of shea butter infused with beeswax and a ton of yummy smelling essential oils. It also leaves a great shine. Again, because it contains beeswax, use it only during grooming. (It says so on the label). They do have other products for moisture.

Once my locs are towel dried, I hand twist my frizzies with the Butter. I may go further down the shaft of the loc if needed. It does moisturize, so doing so is OK. It does work, especially right before you really need to make that loctician’s appointment. The website said that it gives your locs a more professional look. I agree.

Drying
I shampoo in the morning, so I don’t have to lie down on wet locs. This can reshape and flatten them over time, and if you don’t give your locs ample time to dry, you can create the conditions for mildew. So I air dry. I’ll wait until my locs are mostly dry before I go out, but I’ve done so even in winter. I just cover my head up. I’m not against a hooded dryer. I will use it if time permits. (I inherited a salon model which I proudly hold on to!)

Moisture during the week
Coconut oil has been the oil of choice for me. It is the only oil I have used that penetrated the loc and actually felt soft the morning after if I use it the night before. Don’t forget the back and the ends. That’s the area that rubs against winter scarves and sweaters and the edge of a wool coat. It is a prime area for weak spots and breakage. (Trust me, the last row of locs at the nape of my neck will show both. They are just now growing back.)

I am currently using Barlean’s Extra Virgin Coconut Oil. It comes in a jar as a solid. I heat it up and pour it into a spray bottle to easily apply it. I usually use it overnight, and by morning my locs are soft. It also works in a semi-solid form like the “hair grease” we all grew up with. This however doesn’t contain mineral oil, so it shouldn’t attract dirt, and it cleans away easily.

I do believe in hot oil treatments and if I do have the time, I’ll use a oil overnight and shampoo in the morning.

That’s it. And what works for you may be a bit different. What’s your loc regimen? Write us a note at info@loccdlife.com.

Gail Mitchell
Editor
Loc’d Life Magazine

(Keep reading our blog and tell others about us!)

3 thoughts on “My loc regimen

Leave a Reply

