D.I.Y. Locs

This is me after my locstitch session. I did this updo as well!

This week I had a hair emergency: an event to go to and no time for a salon. What’s an editor to do? Do it yourself!

I have started and maintained my locs using the locstitch method for the past 5 years. With this method, one uses a latchhook to tighten, and almost “stitch” hair together so it is already fused and ready to loc. This method works best for finer hair textures. So I took my own advice, my experience watching my locticians, and an e-book by Cherie King, which I purchased a while back. I used a latchhook to tighten and restitch my new growth.

1. For the loc maintenance, I started with a shampoo and a towel dry. To condition, I used Organic Root Stimulator’s Olive Oil Oil Lotion moisturizer all over.

2. Apply a twisting gel to the base of your first loc. I used Fabulocs Loc Binding Butter to add shine and ultimate staying power.

3. Start with holding an individual loc with one hand. At the base, insert your finger to separate the new growth.

4. Insert the latchhook through the hole created and hook the same loc through the hole.

5. Pull the loc through until tight at the base.

6. Repeat, but at a different angle and create a new hole in the remaining new growth, insert the latchhook, hook the same loc and pull through.

7. Continue until tightened at the base, and continue until all new growth is retightened at the base.

8. Use an oil to moisturize the scalp and locs. (I used coconut oil.) Then use a loc gel to smooth locs from root to ends.

9. Sit under a warm dryer to set the gel and to fully dry locs.

Voila! You’re done. The key is to use the latchhook from different angles so you don’t stitch in the same direction and create a hole in your locs. Try not to overtighten or stitch too often (You’ll be amazed at your new powers!) It takes a long time and it’s a workout for your arms, but you can do it yourself.

Gail Mitchell
Editor
Loc’d Life Magazine

5 thoughts on “D.I.Y. Locs

  1. I use this method rather than retwist. I like the fact you don’t have to retwist and it keeps your locs looking well maintained for a longer period. especially after washes. and yes it is a workout on your arms.

  2. thanks ladies – I don’t live in the US – do you know how I can order a latch-hook online? Another question – my locks are about a year and half old BUT I still have tons of fuzz all along each loc – will that EVER go away????

Leave a Reply

