You have to try this shampoo!

Regularly washing locs is the best way to keep buildup at bay. A castile soap is great for a non-drying cleanse.

I admit it. I am a hair product addict. If I see something interesting—twisting gels, leave-in conditioners, loc conditioners, whatever—I have to buy it and try it out, even if I have some on hand.

Dr. Bronner's Liquid Castile Soap is a oil-blend-based soap that doesn't say it's a shampoo, but many use it as one.

Shampoos are no different. I’ve picked up many a shampoo. My bathtub wall was full of shampoos at one point. I always end up going back to one in particular: Dr. Bronner’s  Liquid Pure-Castile Soap. I have used the Lavender in the past. This time I tried the Rose scent, and I have found the perfect shampoo.

Why?

It lathers perfectly the first time and every time. You don’t need much, and you get so much lather. It’s great if you are in hurry (as I was this morning!), when you have to quickly wash your locs. A second shampoo only confirms the cleanse.

It has a mild, attractive scent. I bent my head down to do something, and I smelled a beautiful scent as one of my locs brushed past my face. I believe it is a new scent for Dr. Bronner’s.

It is oil based, so it is non-drying. Dr. Bronner’s is an oil-based soap, so it doesn’t strip your locs of moisture and natural oils as it cleanses. It’s a combination of organic coconut, olive, jojoba, and hemp oils, with essential oils for the scents.

Dr. Bronner’s  soaps are not technically shampoos, but a lot of loc wearers use them as one. I first read about it in the book Nice Dreads, by Lonnice Brittenum Bonner. It comes in a variety of scents, it’s economical because you don’t have to use as much, and it is as a great price point, and most health food stores carry them.

Again, I’ve tried a lot of shampoos. I tried one that I had to use the entire bottle to get a lather the first time. This soap, however, never disappoints.

Visit their website www.drbronner.com to order, or visit your local Whole Foods or health food store to purchase. It comes in a variety of sizes from a small bottle to gallon sizes.

Till next time,
Gail Mitchell
Editor
Loc’d Life Magazine

2 thoughts on “You have to try this shampoo!

Leave a Reply

