Locs gone runway, part II

Esosa Edosomwan, the interview—this week! Courtesy Esosa Edosomwan.

Last week, we featured model, actress, filmmaker and fashion designer Esosa Edosomwan after she emailed Loc’d Life regarding locs and fashion industry. Loc’d Life talked with her this week and discussed how having locs can shake up viewpoints at times but it’s worth all the beauty…

(Editor’s Note: Esosa emailed me with some clarifications on this week’s post. So if you’ve already read it, read it again, as she has added some more insight and clarity that I may have missed!)

On breaking into the industry…

Esosa in Essence Magazine. Ironically, this photo helped inspire the start of Loc’d Life Magazine.

A couple of years ago, I was avidly trying to get an agent to represent me, but I couldn’t find one. I gave up. Then some friends of mine connected me with some good agents but all of them passed because of my hair. Essence Magazine needed a loc’d model for a shoot they were doing and a photographer recommended me. I did it, and people started to find me after that. Recently, Iman Cosmetics contacted me from pictures found online.Very supportive friends have said that a great model like me should be working more often and have tried to link me up with good agents. I’ve had interest and recommendation from several major agencies over the years like Wilhemina and Elite in Chicago before it became Factor Models. They all told me that they were not looking for anyone with my type of hair, or that my look was not commercial enough and clients would not respond well. One even asked if I still had “those braids.” There seems to still be a lot of ignorance about black hair. They say that their clients were conservative. To some degree I understand, but I thought, this is crazy. How will change come if no one is taking a chance? 

On locs…

Hair is so political. Hair is deeply intertwined with the politics of fashion, and we don’t get to see ourselves in any natural kind of light.

On herself…

I’m interesting because I have dreadlocks, but I have a classic old-school model look (when models were prettier in the face), so there’s no way to stereotype me, no way to put me into the typical dread lock stereotype. You have to deal with the whole thing. I personally want to be a part of promoting the idea that dreadlocks can be girl-next-door, and sexy.

On getting locs…

I had permed hair. Then I started growing it out. I wore an afro starting around 2001-2002, and wore it for two years. I started loc’ing around 2003. I said to myself that I would wait until I’m older. Then I saw gorgeous people with locs all around me. I’ve worn braids before, and I knew I would have a lot of versatility. Many times fashion shows do not have hair stylists who know how to work with Black hair. I would need to find a hair stylist that did Black Hair. If they don’t have a loc stylist, then there’s nothing they can do.

On attitude…

My goal is not to be moaning and groaning. I will be marketed as the girl with locs, and at the end of the day, it comes down to if I can do the work. It’s so obvious that a hair revolution is taking over the world. Clients need to know that they won’t be hurting themselves. People are really getting used to seeing it. I think that locs will be more allowed if executives have them. People get funny. I don’t think that it will hurt my career, and I am just more determined.

On her regimen…

I go to a master loctician  who is amazing because I just don’t have the energy to do them myself. It can get overwhelming to deal with all this hair!  I get it styled a lot in a lot of interesting styles, and try to get herbal rinses and deep conditioning often. I use coconut oil a lot, and I eat the right foods.

On her most important loc tip…

Avoid products that cause buildup. I stay away from butters and beeswax. They affect how your locs grow and look. Your roots also get clogged. I’m very careful with what I put on my hair. I also try not to use too many chemicals. Moisture is also important. Sometimes my locs get really dry.

On a perfect world…

In a perfect world, I would be stacked up with other models fair and square. Agents would book dreadlocked models. It’s not about pushing this hair type or that hair type as better. Its about reflecting the broader beautiful spectrum of black hair and people. I think that if locs appeared in fashion, it would bleed into entertainment even more.

On her other pursuits…

I have a blog on being vegan entitled, Raw Girl in a Toxic World (rawgirltoxicworld.com), on eating mostly raw foods and natural cures. Acting is my passion, but I also love modeling. I am also a filmmaker. I’ve worked on short films, and I’m developing a feature-length one now. I also have a fashion line that will be debut with a press launch. I also love acting, and I love modeling. I’m a creative, multifaceted artist, and I am grateful to God for the opportunities I have been given to use my talents. I try not to get bored and try to stay busy.


‘Till next time,
Gail Mitchell
Editor
Loc’d Life Magazine
www.locdlife.com (click on the blog link to bring you here)

One thought on “Locs gone runway, part II

  1. Me again! European (American) media and culture are really not that interested in opening up to anything non-white, especially African. “Integration” was always about African folk doing all the integrating which naturally leads to us hating and/or being ashamed of our African-ness. (eg I’m NOT African, I’m American; being happy to wear European clothes but horrified at the thought of African attire etc). But times they are a-changing! Do read the article attached about the Black Wallstreet and be inspired that with planning, perseverance, and love for our African-ness we can do this again. http://www.daveyd.com/blackwallpolitic.html

Leave a Reply

