Sergio Brown: Locs got game

sergioweb3

Photo: 9Tailors

Locs are rocking the National Football League (NFL) in record numbers. Check the stats, and you’ll find more and more players sporting locs on and off the field.

Meet Sergio Brown, a safety for the Indianapolis Colts, and a loc star in his own right. The 27-year-old started his career as a wide receiver and a defensive back for Proviso East High School in Maywood, Illinois with a stunning record. In his senior year, he had 710 yards, 4 touchdowns, and 6 interceptions as a safety. He was recruited by the University of Notre Dame, where he posted an equally impressive record playing special teams. Brown signed with the New England Patriots out of college, and this past season, started anew as a safety for the Indianapolis Colts. Brown is a pioneer and a good example of how locs are making major plays in the game…

Tell me about yourself.

I am a young man from Maywood, Illinois. A young classmate, a dream chaser, living the dream, playing in the NFL, fun and energetic.

How long have you worn locs?

Five years now, going on 6. Always in high school, I just remember being fond of locs. I liked the way they looked and I did research the look. I had individual braids for a while, but I was scared to jump in all the way.

Why do you think that locs are popular now?

I’m not really sure. They look cool, and people want them because they look cool. I got attached to them early on.

How did you get into football?

I started playing football in high school at Proviso East. Back then around the time of the movie, Hoop Dreams, everyone was playing basketball and football. I started developing more in football than in basketball. In my junior year, people started recruiting me for Notre Dame. From there, I made the NFL. I now play for the Indianapolis Colts.

How are locs received on the field?

Younger people don’t care. Older people don’t like them, and they have even tried to have them banned. At one point in time, they almost were, but I think that they are a way of life and one’s identity.

Who inspired you to get locs?

I was the youngest child of 3. When I was a freshman in high school, my father was very supportive of me, and everything I did in the classroom. He went to Texas A&M, and he was the first black basketball player there. He is the son of Mario and Myrtle Brown and was an inspiration to the community. Myself, my brother, and my father all grew our hair out at the same time. My brother’s hair started growing and started to loc. My dad made me cut my hair, probably because he couldn’t grow his. He went back to braids.

Photo: 9Tailors

Photo: 9Tailors

Describe your first loc appointment.

The first time, I had a family friend do them. I had a lot of hair, and it took a lot of work. He started my locs out too big, and I ended up taking them down and went back to braids. I set up another appointment to get my hair twisted, and started with two-strand twists. He started cutting my hair off, as he twisted them. I had to go through the whole process again and got them redone again.

What’s your loc regimen?

I use a water-based gel to twist up and go. I also make sure that I wrap up my hair when I sleep.

Tell me about your upcoming projects.

Right now, I’m starting a foundation for troubled youth from urban neighborhoods. I would also like to include homeless youth, because they don’t get a lot of attention. Coming from Maywood, you see a lot you are not proud of. These kids need urban youth development out here. They go from home to home or to shelters, bouncing around a lot. I want to try to find a way to help. I’m also starting a line of headwear, Lacer hats. It is my own line of hats, and proceeds from sales go towards the foundation.

Why do you like locs?

They become me, and they fit my personality. I’m not a full-blown Rasta[farian], but I definitely picked up some of their philosophies. Myself without dreads is like me not being Sergio anymore.

Editor’s note: I hope that you are enjoying our new look for a new year. We combined locdlife.com with the blog, so that everything is in one place. We will archive Loc’d Life’s older articles, too in the future, for a comprehensive digest for your loc’d experience. Look for more exciting things to come in 2013!

gail1‘Till next time,
Gail Mitchell
Editor
Loc’d Life Magazine
http://www.locdlife.com (all in one place!)

 

 

locdlifead

Leave a Reply

