Moses Stone: Rocking the Locs

MosesStone_Oct16_0018_web

You’ve seen him on the hit NBC TV show The Voice. Rocking the locs in prime time is Moses Stone, recording artist, rapper, and singer. This Washington, D.C. native has transplanted to the great sunshine of Los Angeles, but hasn’t forgotten his loc’d roots. Hear his story on how he’s taken locs centerstage…

Tell me about yourself.I am a recording artist. I have been in the business for 10 years rapping, dancing, and singing. I’m on NBC’s The Voice. This is the 3rd or 4th season, and I am the first ever rapper and singer on the show. I have a new mix, Revillion, coming out on October 15th. I’m working on more music. Music is my passion, and this is what I love to do.voicebox

How long have you been wearing locs? Since 2005. I’ve had them for a while. I started with a gel twist when it was short. Now they’re long, and I had a lot of work done on my hair for a while, about 5-6 years. I’ve had them for so long, I don’t see a big change for me. I just learned how to maneuver them.

Why locs? I love them. My mom is from Jamaica and my father is from here. It’s just like being a lion. I can feel my locs bring for me ups and downs, and I have seen the whole story. They are a part of me and are close to me.

What is your regimen? I’m really bad with my locs. Sometimes they say, “Please twist me.” When I get lost in the studio, I throw them back into a ponytail, or pin them up. When I have the time, I go to a loctician who does all the maintenance with oils, around two times a month. I usually have it styled in cornrows or two-strand twists. For The Voice, I had it really crinkly. It was the last performance, and I got a lot of compliments from all the ladies. Women love them.

How does it feel to wear locs? It feels pretty good. I do get criticized by wearing them. People perceive you in a certain way. They think you smoke weed. You are not educated. People with locs have degrees, are educated, are completely the opposite of that notion. I share that side with people on the show. I want to be that voice that Bob Marley represented: freedom. Everyone’s getting locs when it’s really like a special quality. When everyone wants them, they are not unique anymore. You can be well-educated and be a in the professional business. So many people have dreads, and you don’t get to see both sides of the picture, to see both sides of locs. In Jamaica, it’s a whole other way of living.

What’s your best advice on locs? Research it and think about the future and career. They are some things you’ll have to fight for for your locs. Don’t get them just to be cool. Have your own thoughts about them. Everyone’s different, and they do different designs.Know that you want them, and be free.

Editor’s note: Thank you all for your continued support as Loc’d Life Magazine starts a new year. This wouldn’t be possible without you. Please let others know the place on the web for locs, Loc’d Life Magazine at http://www.locdlife.com.

gail1‘Till next time,
Gail Mitchell
Editor
Loc’d Life Magazine
http://www.locdlife.com

locdlifead

Leave a Reply

