Loc artistry

laurencepommellsJewelry artist Laurence Pommells’s Dragon Faiya Kreations are as beautiful and as engaging as locs are.

Loc’d Life talked with the artist behind these and other beautiful creations at dragonfaiyakreations.com. And, yes, he wears locs. For 10 years, Pommells has been designing wire jewelry. When asked what inspires him he says that life does.

“Life inspires my creations,” says Pommells. “I am also a martial artist. My pieces have changed. They have a personality and flair, and each piece asks for them. There’s color… blue stones…deep rich royal blue against white metal…I like to highlight one thing about a person and accentuate every thing going on.”

Pommells also wears locs and has for 7 years. “At first, I didn’t like locs. Then I made the switch to being afrocentric to being Afrikan-Centered, and it became very much a cultural identifier for me.”

4upjewelry

Pommells says that locs are as unique as each person who wears them. “Locs look different on everybody. Personally, I’m not a color person. I see bright colors, and they look cool. It’s just not something I would do for myself. Don’t just wear locs because its afrocentric. Some don’t realize the cultural undertaking. At the end of the day, always be you. I wake up everyday, and just pray. Love yourself, and you’ll love everything about you.”

blueturquoiseearrings

When asked about his regimen, Pommells keeps it simple. “ I rinse my hair with water everyday, and get my hair done every 6 weeks. I wrap my hair up at night. I oil my scalp every two days, with nothing super heavy. You can use lemon to clean hair and beer to clean your hair. I eat a lot of carrots for their b7 and vitamin A [helps protect and produce the oils that sustain your scalp]. I also use Jamaican black castor oil, adding more keratin. I work out in the morning and drink tea and water everyday. I’m fighting hereditary male pattern baldness and stress, and black castor oil restores hair. Diet and eating says a whole lot about you. I enjoy making joy. Jewelry releases that stress.”

Pommells also makes loc ties.

In Chicago, you can see his creations next Saturday at the Chicago Lakeside Festival at the newly-built exit at 87th and Lake Shore Drive from 11 a.m.-5 p.m. go to chicagolakesidefest.com for more information.

gail1 ‘Till next time,
Gail Mitchell
Editor
Loc’d Life Magazine
http://www.locdlife.com

P.S. Don’t forget to get volume 1 and 2 of the printed edition at http://www.magcloud.com/browse/issue/399285

Leave a Reply

