What I know to be true about locs

locs

swazi adI have written over 160 posts about locs—what to do with them, how to celebrate them, how to nurture them, how to cultivate them. Each week, I look for the best information for an audience thirsting for knowledge about loc’d hair. Here’s what I know to be true: Locs should be simple. Cleanse. Moisturize. Do things that retain moisture between shampoos. Style. Repeat.

1)   Cleanse. Keep it simple. A liquid castile soap. Products with simple ingredients. Ones to try: Ology Pure Castile Liquid Soap in Peppermint from Walgreen’s.

2)   Moisturize. A simple moisturizing conditioner. A hot oil treatment. Both will moisturize, leaving your locs supple and clean. I wrote last week about hot oil treatments using olive oil. I just recently found a conditioner: Essations Naked Honey and Almond Moisture Whip Conditioner. My loctician Shanda, at Amazon Natural Essentials, used it at my last visit, and I will track it down. I have also heard from people who swear by hot oil treatments. Whichever you choose, moisture and simplicity is key.

licensebox3)   Do things that retain moisture between shampoos. Wrap your locs up at night. Moisturize your scalp. Use natural oils. Use moisturizing mists. Oil and water do mix, when it comes to locs, and moisturizing mists work wonders. Mist your locs between shampoos and let them fully dry.

4)   Style. This year, I resolved to not be a plain Jane. Usually, I go with straight styles. I will try curly styles and more updos, I will style them, jazz them up with a little color, and I will give my locs a well-deserved break when needed, too.

5)   Repeat. With the hot summer months coming and a need to exercise (I have been dying to try hot yoga!) I will need to repeat as often as necessary to remove sweat, buildup (which won’t be a problem if I use the right products), and to moisturize. Water adds needed moisture to locs, whether you rinse or just drink it.

My list points out one thing: Caring for your locs should be simple. Keep a simple regimen that does the above, and your locs will thank you for it by reaching for the floor in glorious lengths.

Gail Mitchell, Editor Loc'd Life Magazine‘Till next time,
Gail Mitchell
Editor
Loc’d Life Magazine
www.locdlife.com

P.S. Look for a new look for Loc’d Life Magazine, coming soon…

3 thoughts on “What I know to be true about locs

    • Hi,

      Sorry for the delay in answering, but I get to everyone once I get a chance…

      I try to wash weekly. A book, Brown Skin : Dr. Susan Taylor’s Prescription for Flawless Skin, Hair, and Nails, says that African American hair should be washed every 7-10 days. If you are more active, you may need to wash more often to remove perspiration and the drying salt that is left once it dries.

      You should do some conditioning after shampooing—even if it is just applying oil while your locs are still wet.

      Gail Mitchell
      Loc’d Life Magazine
      http://www.locdlife.com

Leave a Reply

